Best for small must for all
Click Here for Meghalaya Board (MBOSE) Results 2020
Home city guide district rural development agency

District Rural Development Agency

District Rural Development Agency has traditionally been the principal organ at the district level to oversee the implementation of anti-poverty programmes of the Ministry of Rural Development. Originally, this agency was created to implement the Integrated Rural Development Programme (IRDP). Subsequently, the DRDAs were entrusted with number of programmes of both state and central governments. A separate DRDA administration has been introduced from April 1, 1989 to take care of the administrative costs. This aims at enhancing  the DRDAs and makes them more professional in managing the anti-poverty programmes and be an effective link between the ministry and the district level.

Rural development and poverty alleviation programmes are implemented on a disperse basis, keeping in view the large the administrative requirements, geographical areas and the need to involve grassroots-level officials and the community in the implementation of the programmes. The Ministry of Rural Areas & Employment at the central level has been coordinating the implementation of these programmes. It is the responsibility of the ministry to release the central share of funds, overall guidance, policy formulation, monitoring and evaluation of the programmes. With regard to the State Level Secretary, Community and Rural Development and the Director of Community and Rural Development overall are incharge for implementation of the rural development programmes; whereas at the District level, the programmes are exercise through the DRDAs (District Rural Development Agencies).

DRDA includes the governing body of :

  • Members of Parliament (MPs)
  • Members of Legislative Assemblies (MLAs)
  • District level officials of Development Departments
  • Bankers, NGO's and representatives of weaker sections of the society

The Chairman of the Governing Body  and the Project Director the Member Secretary is the Deputy Commissioner .

The Block Development includes :

  • Block Development Committee
  • Block Development Officers

The Village Level includes:

  • Village level workers
From time to time the Central and State Governments  have introduced many schemes. Several schemes are available which provide support to different components of Rural Development. Most of the times, the schemes are also periodically changed to reflect the experience over the years. The role of DRDA has been to analyze the needs of the rural population and make the appropriate schemes available, where they are needed. In exercising the schemes, the role of the DRDA has been financial, technical and managerial. Thus, DRDA is not only a body to disburse the funds for the schemes but also provide appropriate managerial and technical support.

Ministry of Rural Development has evolved a comprehensive system of Monitoring and Evaluation and professional agencies in order to establish a proper implementation of the programmes at the grass roots. Regular monitoring of the programmes are done to assess the financial and physical progress. Simultaneous evaluation is conducted periodically to streamline the implementation and to improve the delivery systems. The Evaluation and Monitoring Programme includes Financial Statements, Progress Reports, Parliamentary Committees, Intensive Inspection by officers of the central and state governments and research studies on specific areas.

Find below a list of all branches under the DRDA, District Rural Development Agency -

DRDA Branches :

  • The General or Establishment Branch
  • The Arms Branch
  • The Development Branch
  • The Election Branch
  • The Housing Branch
  • The Nazarat Branch
  • The Planning Branch
  • The Revenue Branch
  • The Supply Branch
  • District Selection Committee (DSC)
  • District Total Literacy Campaign
  • National Informatics Centre (NIC)
  • Treasury

Find below a list of all important schemes implemented by the DRDA (East Garo Hills District) -

 Centrally Sponsered Schemes:

  • Sampoorna Grameen Rozgar Yojana (SGRY)
  • Swarnajayanti Gram Swarozgar Yojana (SGSY)
  • Indira Awaas Yojana (IAY)
  • Swajaldhara Programe
  • Total Sanitation Campaign (TSC)
  • Integrated Watershed Development Programme (IWDP)

State Sponsered Scheme:

  • National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP)
  • Assistance to Small Farmers and Marginal Farmers
  • Special Rural Works Programme (SRWP)
  • Construction of Rural Roads Programme (CRRP)
  • Chief Minister's Special Rural Development Fund (CMSRDF)

  • E-mail

Comments / Discussion Board - District Rural Development Agency